Daniel & Ashley

Hi Friend! We are so glad you are taking a few minutes to see if we are the right fit for you and your precious little one. Big stuff, this adoption thing. We are a happy little family of three and we can’t wait to add to our family. Please visit our adoption blog for more updated info on how we spend our time!

Meet Daniel

I work in IT for Lifetime Products. I grew up in South Ogden, Utah. I have three older sisters and one younger brother. We get together once a month with all of them to celebrate birthdays and other holidays. We all live close together and enjoy spending time together. I went to Weber State University and graduated in 2006. I met Ashley about the time we graduated. She was finishing her degree at the same time. I enjoy cooking with my son and relaxing by playing computer games. My three favorite things are my wife, my son, and my puppies. I am excited to add a daughter to our family.

Meet Ashley

I am a full time stay at home mom and a part time crafter/quilter/artsy type. One of my favorite things to do is read. This last year I reached my goal of reading 50 books by finishing 53 books. I am trying to instill a love of books in Panda as well and he has a shelf of over 200 books in his own room.

I also grew up in South Ogden, Utah. I am the oldest for four, with two younger brothers and a little sister. She is my best friend. I lost my father in 2012 and learning about loss had taught me so much. Family has been so important to us! I went to the University of Utah and graduated in History in 2006. I worked in museums and archives until we adopted Panda in January 2015. Becoming a stay at home mom has been the best thing to ever happen to me and has been such a learning experience! I am so blessed to spend my days with a little guy who opens my eyes to the world and is so curious, clever, and has recently learned the word “Why?” I have involved him in everything I do and he goes with me everywhere. He is my little buddy. I have taken him back East to visit family 4 times and he loves to travel too. We spend all our time together, and that must be why he is so excited when dad comes home!

Meet Panda

(Don’t worry, that’s not his real name. We just protect his name on the internet.)

I love my toys and crafting with mom! I am excited for a baby sister. I love my little preschool, and singing and dancing. I love to make new friends everywhere I go. My best friend is also adopted! I love to play with my trains and have mom and dad help me. Mom is better at building tracks. We love to play games too!

Panda is 4 years old and loves everything a 4 year old boy should! He loves trucks and cars and running. He is going to be a runner when he grows up, we are sure of it. He loves Pandas so very much. He has also taken on a variety of small stuffed animals! We got his nickname after we visited the Panda center in Chengdu, China while living there from April 2011-November 2012. We all love Pandas. Soon after we adopted him, we decided it was wise to protect him on the internet and allow him some privacy until he is old enough to decide for himself. So Panda he is. He has so much personality. I can’t wait for you to meet him.

Our family

We have three dogs: Lacy, a 12 yr old lab mutt who is a sweetheart and who is either begging for (and stealing) food or sleeping in the corner. Winston, an 11 yr old Cairn Terrier (Toto dog) who protects us all from everything but thunderstorms, when the roles are reversed and he is the one who wants protecting. Maggie is our youngest. She is a 1.5 year old Lab/Setter mix with more energy than both of the other dogs combined! Panda loves the dogs and the dogs love Panda. But it all makes our house a rather busy place! We generally have laid back evenings as a family and sometimes we have evening adventures.

We are active members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints who love and live our faith. We feel it gives us a foundation for a happy life and an added measure of peace in this chaotic world. We believe family comes first and spend lots of time together with our little family and with our siblings and parents.

What we do

We like to have adventures, whether little or big. Little adventures include going to Home Depot for supplies, seeing movies at the local dollar theater, and family movie nights in when we make popcorn and watch our favorites. Our big adventures include trips to Yellowstone, Ashley’s family’s condo at Bear Lake, and occasionally Disneyland. Ashley is a Disney superfan. We were able to go to Tokyo and Hong Kong Disneylands while living overseas. Other adventures include 4-wheeling trips on the trails around us and day trips to local museums and aquariums.

While Daniel works

While Daniel is a work, Panda and I try to have educational outings or lazy cuddle time. He loves to help cook and do some of the chores, and we love to cuddle and watch Daniel Tiger in the afternoons. He has recently taken to cuddling his little pandas (of which he has 6) and he is a great little panda daddy. I can’t wait to see him as an older brother.


Adoption is part of our lives and we are so grateful for it. It has been our plan A since we got married. We love open adoption and hope to have an open adoption with our next one. We recently found out that Panda’s birth mother passed away a couple years ago. We are very sad at this news, but we still talk positively and lovingly about her. We sent her pictures and letters and we have one treasured letter from her. Panda knows he is adopted and A is his birth mother. He has a picture of her on his nightstand and talks about her.

Life is so many things. Sometimes life if hard. Sometimes life is about timing. Sometimes life is about companions. Sometimes life is about friends. Sometimes life is about fun. Sometimes life is unexpected. Sometimes life is about faith.

Life is always about family.

We hope you enjoyed this glance of ours.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *